The Cincinnati CRANawards is a juried awards program held annually by AIA Cincinnati’s Custom Residential Architects Network (CRAN) to celebrate and recognize outstanding projects by residential architects working in Cincinnati. Now in its 11th year, the AIA Cincinnati CRANawards is the only residential architecture award program organized by a local AIA chapter.


See previous award winners in the CRANawards gallery.




2020 CRANawards Update

We have changed the CRANawards banquet to a virtual event. All Judging is complete. Finalists and winners will be announced during the event. You can prepare for the event by viewing all the entries via the link below. Also, we are including a People’s Choice Award for this year’s awards. View the entries and then select your favorite.


View the 2020 CRANawards Entries



(now closed) Vote for the Peoples Choice Award


Watch the CRANawards Virtual Event



Sponsor the CRANawards






Registration opens: January 6, 2020


Submissions due: February 29, 2020


CRANawards Virtual Event: August 20, 2020, 5:00 PM, Online







David Darling, AIA,IIDA, ASLA


David Darling is a founding partner of Aidlin Darling Design, formed with Joshua Aidlin in 1997, with a shared interest in exploring design across a wide range of scales, programs, and disciplines including institutional, commercial and residential architecture, as well as furniture, landscape, interior, and product design. Founded on a closely held conviction that design can engage all of the senses, his work has pursued an interest in the connection between design, food, art, culture and place. Mr. Darling has augmented this multi-disciplined pursuit through teaching, through his involvement with the James Beard Foundation, Slow Food USA, AIA, IIDA, ASLA, and through his studio’s trans-disciplinary design work.


Recent work has included projects as far away as Doha Qatar and Hong Kong. Completed projects include the restaurant Insitu at SFMOMA, the 3 Michelin starred restaurant Benu in San Francisco, the Windhover contemplative art chapel at Stanford University, a 160,000 sq. ft. LEED Gold craft brewery in San Leandro, and several wineries that push the boundaries of sustainability in agriculture and architecture. Current work includes a Cultural Arts Center in San Francisco, a Contemplative Sciences Center at the University of Virginia, and a waterfront pavilion for the new Expedia Headquarters in Seattle, Washington. In recent years, his firm has garnered over 140 regional, national, and international awards including two James Beard Awards for restaurant design, and the Smithsonian Cooper- Hewitt’s National Design Award for their complete body of work.



Joshua Aidlin and David Darling

Aidlin Darling Design


As the world becomes increasingly dominated by the visual and virtual, we can take for granted how intertwined we are with the environment surrounding us. For over 20 years, Aidlin Darling Design has pursued an architecture of restraint that seeks to intervene and engage our senses, connecting us to place and to ourselves. Embracing architecture as an active bodily encounter, the firm strives to uncover the latent spirit of each project through rigorous site observation, intensive understanding of program, and protracted collaboration, ultimately resulting in a strong sense of permanence and timelessness.







  • Projects must meet one of the award category requirements.*
  • Projects must be completed after January 1, 2010.
  • Projects must be completed by a registered architect.
  • The submitting firm must have an office in the Cincinnati region.
  • Projects may not be previous Cincinnati CORAward or CRANaward winners,but may be previous non-winning submissions.
  • If the submitting architect is not the sole author of the submitted work, all substantial participants must be given credit.


*See the Student and 25 Year Award category description for specific eligibility requirements.







  • Entry Fee
  • Project Images – 15 max
  • Project Description – 300 word max
  • Project Credits / Information – Judging will be anonymous

Powerpoint and word templates will be provided.






New Custom Home

Single-family residence. No size limitations.


Architectural Addition

Addition or exterior alteration to an existing residential building.


Multi-unit Housing

Buildings with more than one residence, including townhomes, apartments, condominiums, and mixed-use buildings. Hotel buildings and other short-term stay commercial buildings do not qualify.



Space for the preparation and enjoyment of meals.


Architectural Interior

Interior space of a residential structure.


Exterior Environment

Exterior feature associated with residential projects (patio, pergola, outdoor kitchen, pool structure, landscape design)



Any student project with a residential component.


  • Students must be currently enrolled in an architectural program in the Cincinnati region.
  • Students must list their professors and team members if group work.
  • No entry fee required.
  • Student work will be submitted and judged in the same manner as professional work.
  • Student award finalists will receive 2 free tickets to the awards banquet.


25 Year Award

A residential project of enduring quality that has stood the test of time.


  • Residential building completed prior to 1996.
  • Submitting firm must have in office the Cincinnati region.
  • The building must be standing in substantially completed form and good condition.






Award Finalists

After Judging is complete in mid-March, a list of three finalists will be publicly announced. All three finalists will be recognized at the awards program.


Award Winners

One award will be given per category. The winner will be revealed at the ceremony.


Winners receive a custom glass trophy with their project information. One complementary trophy is given to each winner. If additional trophies are requested, the architect should contact the CRANawards chair.




CRANawards Virtual Event


Date: August 20, 2020

Time: 5pm (online)

Cost: free


Join us to celebrate the best in residential architecture at our first ever virtual CRANawards! We’ll miss seeing you live and in-person, but this year you can invite your entire firm, all of your project partners and vendors, your friends and family, and even your frenemies to celebrate the exceptional work of greater Cincinnati’s residential architects.


The awards program will be similar to the in-person version with the introduction of finalists and the announcement of the award winner. If your firm is back in the office, consider hosting a physically distant watch party to take part in the live viewing social media interactive activities. And join us for the live announcement of the People’s Choice Award winner (a new category this year, follow us on Instagram for more details) at the end of the program.





If you have any questions regarding submissions, judging or the event, please contact the CRANawards Chair Andreas Lange at


Please send any questions regarding sponsorship or event participation to the AIA Cincinnati’s Executive Director Julie Carpenter at





CRANawards Platinum Sponsor




CRANawards Gold Sponsor






CRANawards Silver Sponsors







CRANawards Bronze Sponsors

BR Lighting & Controls

Crapsey & Gilles

Evans Landscaping

Green Building Consulting

Hyde Park Lumber

Louisville Tile

Meyer Brothers & Sons


Priority Insulation



CRANawards Supporters

Cynthia Williams Architect
Square Inch Design





Chair: Andreas Lange, AIA

Adam Stehura, AIA

Rick Meyer, AIA

Andy Corn, AIA