Welcoming Our 2021 Directors of the Board: A Letter from Chapter President Cynthia WIlliams

October was a busy month for AIA Cincinnati: we honored our past and embraced our future. The month began with our Sesquicentennial Anniversary celebration that included greetings from AIA National President Jane Frederick, FAIA, as well as a fascinating presentation on the history of AIA Cincinnati by Paul Muller, AIA, Executive Director of Cincinnati Preservation Association. ICYMI (in case you missed it!), you can watch it on YouTube. The month concluded with our Chapter general membership meeting where we approved amendments to our bylaws, and elected new leadership. Read on for highlights of the changes to our bylaws, and a list of officers and other directors that will be serving AIA Cincinnati in 2021.

The bylaws are the main governing document for AIA Cincinnati, supplementing the rules for non-profits already defined by state law. Throughout the past year, several Board members and our Executive Director took on the daunting and sometimes tedious job of reviewing our bylaws line by line. The amendments approved by the Chapter will become effective after they are reviewed by AIA National. The approved amendments include the substitution of gender-neutral pronouns, the correction of formatting errors, and the alignment of terminology with AIA National. The amendments also include changes to the composition of the Board of Directors. The number of Director positions open to Associate members was increased from one to three, allowing the opportunity for more diversity of voices on the Board. One of the Director positions is now clearly reserved for an Associate member who is working toward licensure, ensuring that the next generation of architects is a part of our leadership. The Alternate AIA Ohio Delegate will be brought onto the Board as a Director at the next transition of that position, thereby creating a stronger connection at the state level. An eight-year limit of uninterrupted Board service was specified, allowing both experienced and fresh perspectives to guide the Chapter.

The Board of Directors is the governing body of AIA Cincinnati. We have ten Directors of the Board who are elected by the Chapter membership according to the bylaws. To ensure continuity of programs and goals, the terms of Directors are staggered so that each year there are some directors continuing their service while others are new. In 2021, Directors will bring a wide range of backgrounds and experiences to their roles. I thank them for their willingness to serve, and look forward to continuing our work with them.

2021 Directors of the Board

Past President: Cynthia Williams, AIA: automatic one-year term following President term

President: John Jaskiewicz, AIA: automatic one-year term following Vice-President term

Vice President/ President Elect: Krutarth Jain, AIA: one-year term

Secretary: Brittany Grannan, AIA: one-year term 

Treasurer: Angela Mazzi, FAIA: one-year term

Director: Jeff Raser, AIA: one year remaining of three-year term

Director: Ken Workman, AIA: two years remaining of three-year term

Director: Zoe Gizara, AIA: three-year term

Associate Director: Stephanie Crockett, Assoc. AIA: two year term

AIA Ohio Delegate: Mike Mauch, AIA: two years remaining of three-year term

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.