VISION Past Seasons Speakers Archive


Practice Legacy

Moderator: Bob Gramann, FAIA: Chairman GBBN

Wick Ach: CEO- Hixson Architecture Engineering Interiors

David Arends, AIA: CEO- CR Architecture + Design

Michael Battoclette, AIA: Principal/ Owner- Champlin Architecture

Lauren Della Bella: President- SHP Leading Design

Joel Koopmann, AIA: Facilities Director- City of Cincinnati

Michael Mauch, AIA:  Principal/Owner- RWA Architects

Annette Miller, AIA: CEO Annette Miller Architects

Kurt Platte, AIA: Owner- Platte Architecture

John W. Rogers, FAIA, FACHA: Corporate Architect CCHMC

John Senhauser, FAIA: Principal/Owner- John Senhauser Architects

Matthew Schottelkotte, AIA: CEO- GBBN Architects

Michael Schuster, FAIA: Owner- MSA Architects

Jim Tippmann, Assoc AIA: CEO- FRCH Design Worldwide

Joan Tepe Wurtenberger, AIA: SR Principal- Champlin


Playing to Your Strengths + Presentation for Success

Randy Martin, President- Operations Performance Consulting

Barbara Hall: President- Unlimited Potential Leadership Development Group

Peggy Kennedy: Kenton Corp-Marketer/ Speaker


Advocacy, Politics & Ethics

Tony Costello, FAIA: principal of Costello + Associates & Ball State University Professor

Adam Melis: AIA Director of Political Affairs and Engagement

Andrew Goldberg, Assoc  AIA: Director of AIA National Government Relations & Outreach

Chris Widener, FAIA: Ohio State Senator, President Pro Tempore

Eric Kearney: Ohio Senate Minority Leader, District 9

Denise Driehaus: Ohio Representative, District 31, Economic Development and Regulatory Reform

Wendell Young: Cincinnati City Council

Michael Moore, AIA: Director of Transportation + Engineering- City of Cincinnati

Katie Gerfen: Editor ARCHITECT

John Patrick Rademacher, AIA: Principal of SFA Architects

Jud Kline, FAIA: Senior Director at Herschman Architects & AIA Ohio President

Bruce Sekanick, AIA: AIA Ohio Valley Regional Director

David Miller: Chief of Staff, Cincinnati City

Councilmember Amy Murray

Amit Ghosh: Chief Building Official, City of Cincinnati

Maury Wyckoff: Chief Building Official, Montgomery County


Business Philosophy & the Economy

Peter Piven, AIA: Peter Piven management Consultants

Deb Gnau: Partner- The Chesapeake Group

Ned Cramer: Editor-in-Chief ARCHITECT Magazine

Claire Conroy: Editor-in-Chief Residential Architect

Dennis Geiger: CFO of LPK  Branding

Robert Ivy, FAIA: EVP/CEO- American Institute of Architects

Daniela Patterson: Group Director of LPK Branding

Elizabeth Chu Richter, FAIA: Richter Architects

Kermit Baker: Chief Economist- AIA

Wick Ach: CEO- Hixson Architecture Engineering Interiors

David Arends, AIA: CEO- CR Architecture + Design

Bob Steele: CEO- KZF Design

Geoff Thomas:  LPK

Matt Fearn, LPK


Advancing Project Delivery

James G. Bauer, BSCE, MBA, Director of Business Development- Pivotek

Stephen Chung, AIA: Architect, Educator, TV Host of “Cool Spaces” on public television

Karl Daubmann: DAUB (design, architecture, urbanism, building) + BLU Homes

Pavel Getov, AIA: Owner- Studio Antares/ Morphosis

Peter Gluck: Peter Gluck & Partners

Robert A. Grace │ Account Executive Turner Construction Company

Jonathan Segal, FAIA: Jonathan Segal Architect

Kimball Hales: Hufft Design

Phil Bernstein FAIA, RIBA LEED AP: VP Strategic Industry Relations- Autodesk

Michael Lewis AIA: Façade Forensics

John W. Rogers, FAIA, FACHA: Corporate Architect at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital

Bernie Suer: Messer Construction

Dick Thomas, AIA: Principal of SHP Leading Design

David Hart (living building challenge)

Phil O’Brien, Turner Construction


 Social Responsibility & Community Leadership

Eric Avner: Haile Foundation

Scott Bernhard, AIA: Tulane City Center

Mickey Jacobs, FAIA: urban studio architects & 2013 AIA National President

Bob Gramann, FAIA: Chairman Emeritus of the GBBN

Aaron Burgess: Assist Professor- Cincinnati Christian University

John Peterson: Founder- Public Architecture

Cameron Sinclair: Architecture for Humanity

Mark Johnson: Founding Principal: Civitas

Tony Costello, FAIA: Professor Emeritus- Ball State University

Heather Hallenberg: Artswave- BOARDway Bound Program

John Blake: Miami U. Center for Community Engagement

Jim Fitzgerald, FAIA: Chairman FRCH Design Worldwide

Dale McGirr: Sr VP Finance- University of Cincinnati


Research and Practice

Patricia Kucker: Professor- University of Cincinnati

Scott Veazey, AIA: Partner- VPS Architetcure + NCARB National President

Blaine Brownell: University of Minnesota School of Architecture; Transstudio

Stephen Hopkins: President- SHIELD Casework

Nicholas Holt, AIA: Technical Director- SOM

Ann Sussman: Author + Architect

Michael Zaretsky: Professor- University of Cincinnati

John Senhauser, FAIA: John Senhauser Architects

Jim Cheng, AIA: Principal- emersion design

Mark Lee, AIA: GBBN Architects

Angela Mazzi, AIA: GBBN Architects

Chad Edwards: Principal- emersion design

Michael Lied: Principal – GBBN Architects


Design Legacy

Billie Tsein, AIA: Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects

Andrea Leers, FAIA: Leers Weinzapfel

Roberto De Leon, AIA: de leon + primmer

Ross Primmer, AIA: de leon + primmer

Sebastian Schmaling-Johnsen Schmaling

Frank Harmon, FAIA

Aaron Betsky: Director- Cincinnati Art Museum

Rob Busch: the drawing dept

John Isch, AIA: RWA Architects

James Stapleton, AIA: Vice President at FRCH

Michael Schuster, FAIA:  MSA Architects

Matthew Shottelkotte, AIA: GBBN Architects


Beyond Sustainability

Mark Herman, AIA: PM- Buro Happold

Wil Laufs, AIA: Façade Expert- Buro Happold

John Boecker, AIA: 7group

Lisa Matthiessen FAIA: the Integral Group

Vivian Loftness, FAIA: Professor -Carnegie Mellon University

Katie Weeks: Director of Communications- Institute for Market Transformation

Roger Schickedantz, AIA: William McDonough + Partners

George Bandy: Interface + USGBC National President

Joe Kohrs: KLH Engineers

Chad Edwards: Principal- emersion design 

Mark Fisher: the Cincinnati Zoo

Duke Energy Representative


Design Thinking

Brendan Boyle: founder- Ideo Toy Lab + professor- Stanford University

Jim Tappel: UC-Experience Based Learning and Career Education


Firm Ownership and Transition

Helene Drieling, FAIA: 2014 National President

David Arends, AIA: CEO- CR Architecture + Design

Brad Wilson, Assoc AIA: PSMJ Resources, Inc

Jason Schneider AIA, NCARB, LEED AP BD+C: Principal at Tim Jeckering Architects,Inc.


Graduation Celebration

Mario San Marco: Eagle Realty Group

Roxanne Qualls: Cincinnati City Council and Mayoral Candidate

Dan Hurley: Local 12 Newsmakers + Director- Leadership Cincinnati

Tamara Harkavy: CEO and Artistic Director: Artworks


Past VISION Recordings


Past Lecture Posters